what’s going on?

quite a few things recently have had me thinking about the future. not just robots and space cars but also my own future.
i’ve just finished my second year of uni and it’s not gone great to be honest. i’ve felt very put off by the whole industry of film and television and i’ve pretty much come to realise that it’s not particularly something i would like to go further with. i’m gonna stick around for my final year to see where it goes, but at the moment it’s not really something i’m greatly interested in.
i’ve been reading a lot of comics recently. i finally got round to reading Jimmy Corrigan and rediscovered the fantastic Liz Prince. And it’s sad that over the past couple of years my own comic making has taken a bit of aback bench. it’s something i really miss and i’d like to get back into it more and hopefully be able to do something with it.
on friday, i hung out with Charlie, Alex, Tino, Sam Pepper and a load of other youtube people at a partner meet up that was held in the Google offices in London, which was cool. Google have the best workplace i think i’ve ever seen! there was a guy doing work sat down at a laptop…in a PHONEBOX (it’s a lot more exciting than i can really describe it…just believe me, okay?)! and the people were great and it was really nice to be able to put a face to those who work behind the scenes at youtube. you could see as well that they were also big fans of everyone’s videos, which nicely dispels of any preconceived ideas that youtube is just this big business just in it for the money. because they’re not; they’re just as excited about quality content as everyone else. so that’s really motivated me to do more with youtube i think.

you may have noticed that this blog has had a lick of paint, and that’s something that i’ve been doing with pretty much all my internet endeavours over the past few days. the idea was to be able to come at everything with a fresh new look and really think about what it is i want to do. these are pretty much the ideas i’ve come up with:
i’ve set up a tumblr specifically for my comics: http://boxrocketcomics.tumblr.com
and on that i will be posting comics i’ve made, and hopefully i’ll be able to make that a regular thing.
flickr has told me that i’m close to reaching the limit on the amount of pictures i can post on it, so i’d like to use this blog to post regular little drawings and sketches…as well as keeping it open for writing things and behind the scenes looks at some of my videos i guess.
then for my youtube, i would really like to do more little videos. i’ve been wanting to do this for a while but i didn’t really know how to go about it, but i think i’ve roughly got it now. it’s kinda hard to explain but i’m pretty excited about the ideas i have. so stay tuned.

i also have a couple of other little things i’d like to do but i’m still washing them round in my brain for a bit.
let me know what you think too, cause, at the end of the day, you’re the ones who have to put up with my nonsense you i’d really like to know what you make of the ideas i have…or if you have any suggestions…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to what’s going on?

  1. Nuné says:

    Ed , I’m reading your post and well write the pros and the cons, and analyse how you’ve done at uni so far , if you’re not happy with how the industry goes nowadays, or the way they tell you you should work then fly solo , there’s not a path , I mean yes , it seems like there is a path, go to kinder garden , school, college / university then depending on your university you’ll get a good job and probs that works for some ( although we know that today that’s not often the case..) , but that’s not the only way to achieve what you want, and specially I think , that life is a ride , and if you don’t enjoy it while you’re in it then you missed it . you have to be happy at whatever it is that you do and not be afraid. otherwise what’s the point of living if we can’t enjoy it.
    I support any decision you make as long as you’re happy and doing what you like the most. :).

    ps. can’t wait to see what your new ideas look like .

    take care

    Nuné.

  2. libertyjune says:

    I really understand what you mean with the uni thing. I’m in the same situation. But as you’ve said, just stick around for your final year and get the whole thing done. After all, it would be a pity if all you’ve done so far for uni would be for nothing. Aaaand, it’s summer now!! So you’ll have plenty of time to do the things you really enjoy and to find some motivation again. 🙂
    Concerning the comics, you should really get back to them! I love to read them and if making them makes you happy, well then do it! 🙂 Also, the behind the scenes thing about your videos sounds really interesting! And I’m excited for the little videos you have planned. ^-^
    Basically, just do what makes you happy and what you enjoy. Only then it will be really good. And we all love your “nonsense”, it’s awesome after all! So just do your thing, I’m sure people will love it. :]

  3. Adina Cohen says:

    These idea’s are really neat. It’s nice to hear that you are trying to do more of the things that you love to do. :D!
    I also have had the similar feelings with my situation in college, but these days one doesn’t have to bother with the big industry thing, the internet makes it so easy to post content that one has created.
    These days anyone, with a computer can get a group of people together to create a short film,short TV show…..anything…..
    One of my friends at college sent me this video, it’s about how the animation industry (which isn’t film/television but relates) is dead but it does not mean animation has died….


    Really inspirational stuff.

    I agree with the above commenter’s, life is not about just getting a job and paying the bills right? It’s about enjoying your time on this planet by doing the things you love.

    So it looks as though you are going in the right direction 🙂

  4. Stephanie says:

    My college career went from interior design to architecture to “general studies” to culinary arts. Then I graduated and now I’m a bartender at a club for foreign war veterans. I’m stay pretty broke, for the most part but I can’t ever remember being happier. You have to do what makes YOU happy. No one else is going to do it for you, you know?

    And as far as tips and ideas, well…I feel as though I answered that question, too.

Leave a Reply

