building nostalgia

so this has been a very weird past couple of days. the house i grew up in – Greystones – has been sold and i came back (after having moved out 2 years ago) to sort through my old things. I was 5 when i moved to Pembrokeshire, and since then…well my life happened, and this house has been the base of it i guess. it’s not stayed still though. it’s changed more times than i can really care to recall; rooms have changed in size and shape, new rooms have been built, cracks have appeared and been painted over, walls have changed colours, windows have been smashed and replaced, kitchens have become cupboards and workrooms have become toilets and i think i’ve had a bedroom in pretty much every room upstairs (maybe not the bathroom)….but still it’s always been there and it’s always been Greystones…and it’s kinda weird that this is the last incarnation of this house that i will ever see and call a home (even if it’s just a home away from home).

and then, of course, just to add to the nostalgia, there’s been the fact i’ve spent the last couple of days up in the attic sorting through papers and toys and junk that collected over the past 16 years. i thought it’d be nice to share some of the things i found…so here goes… (click pictures for bigger)


not a great picture…but this is the attic and the piles of stuff i needed to sort out…


I’m just 3 cereal box tokens away from being a doctor too!


ROBO WOLF VS AMBULANCE!!


this is called Pet and it is a Custard Monkey and it scares the shit out of me…


these are some things i’ve made. (from left to right – time machine, surveillance bot, robot, timer [from Sliders])


i used to play this all the time when i was a kid. it’s just one level, but somehow it never gets old…..ever….


i made this hat…just sayin’

i found so many old drawings and comics and things…he’s a few of the ones i like. i don’t even remember doing most of them.

the piece de resistance of the finds though is definitely 4 books i found which i did when i was about 5 or 6 back in primary school.

each monday morning we used to have these books and write down what we did over the weekend. most kids i think put things like “went shopping” or “played with my friend”….but i guess i was just trying to see how far i could get away with making shit up…


(i went to a welsh school so i’ll translate for you : Me and the crocodile are running away to Narnia/Nrniy)


(I have discovered a time machine)


(Living Things)

the most recently dated of the books (’97) is pretty much the same as the others until about half way when it just has this….and the rest of the book is blank….

I’m swimming in the sea to San Francisco. I’m there now. )

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to building nostalgia

  1. Anonanimal says:

    Judging from this post,you haven’t changed since childhood. Keep it up. Have fun storming the castle, captain!

  2. Aly says:

    I looove your child drawnings! Especcially the one about Narnia. It’s adorable! I only feel sorry about kids who wrote about shopping ^_^

  3. Adina Cohen says:

    This is really cool. 🙂 I did something similar with my childhood room, but it was only my closet.

    Not going to lie…..when I saw the last picture I was like….. O.O…..hey…. that’s like 45 minutes away from where I live…..weirdness

  4. steph says:

    that hat makes you look sort of like peter pan

  5. Jude says:

    I love going through old stuff of mine. I haven’t even begun to move out yet, but every so often, I’ll find something that I wrote eight years ago and it’s really interesting to see what went on in my head.

  6. Prugs says:

    wow. I sometimes can’t comprehend the sheer brilliance that is you.

  7. Sara says:

    You reminded me Andy when says goodbye to his friends

    Ed, you’re so immensely simply

    (forgive my eng, i’m italian)

  8. Nuné says:

    this is soo cool . made me smile a lot , maybe when I’m back home I’ll check all of my boxes and see if I find interesting things :)!! xx

Leave a Reply

